BUTT Awards 2023

The votes have been counted and the awards awarded (ably hosted this year by Mark Prescott, pictured). Here is the list of the nominees in each category, with the award winner first and highlighted in bold type. The other nominees appear in no particular order.

Our thanks once again to Martin Blackwell for providing the delightful venue!

Best Actress

  • Alexandra Shoichet: Katherina, The Taming of the Shrew (BSS); Anna, The Baltimore Waltz (ATC)
  • Abi Greef: Alice, Queers (ECC)
  • Josephine Draycott: Genie Tahini, Sinbad the Sailor (ECC) ; La Grande Duchesse, La Grande Duchesse (ETC)
  • Shannon Damery: in Seeing the Thing, Almost, Maine (ATC); Interpreter, The Boss of It All (ECC)
  • Stéphanie Mareschal: Florence Vassy, Chess (BLOC)

Best Set Design & Construction

  • The Tempest (BSS): Esther Pozo Vera, Miguel Peralta, Maite de Sola, Simon Smith, and co.
  • Chess (BLOC): John Hiley, Marie Rousseaux, Oliver Wright, Marc Leire, and co.
  • Sinbad the Sailor (ECC)
  • Studio Nights (ATC): Simon Smith, Elodie Munezero, Karen El Haddad
  • The Baltimore Waltz (ATC): Jeremy Zeegers, Simon Smith, Shannon Damery, Sophie McQuillan

Best Costumes

  • Iolanthe (BLOC): Ingvild Horn, Tonia Jolly, Claire Thomas, Carla Ferreira, Lisa Armetta, Katrin Johansson-Ricketts, Niki Marlow, Hetta van der Weil
  • La Grande Duchesse (ETC): Cath Howdle, Cat Harris
  • Sinbad the Sailor (ECC): Sara Hammerton, Sheila Hewitt, Rhona Tobia, Fiona McGinnis, and co.
  • The Baltimore Waltz (ATC): Mary Wiklander-Williams
  • The Tempest (BSS): Iona Hamilton, Mary Wiklander-Williams, Teresa López

Best Lighting

  • The Tempest (BSS): Patricia Delso Lucas, Patrick Stephenson
  • Chess (BLOC): Chris Harding
  • Queers (ECC): Steve O’Byrne
  • Sinbad the Sailor (ECC): Ant McCarthy
  • The Baltimore Waltz (ATC): Jeremy Zeegers, David Chia, Aravind Dhakshinamoorthy

Best Producer

  • The Tempest (BSS): Patrick Stephenson, Elena Gobbetti
  • Chess (BLOC): Barbara Bauer, Alexander Just, Dennis Elslander
  • Iolanthe (BLOC): Denise Wicken, Alexander Just, Isabelle Deneyer
  • Sinbad the Sailor (ECC): Andrew Fisk
  • The Baltimore Waltz (ATC): Carrie Ellwanger

Best Actor

  • Neale McDonald: The Third Man, The Baltimore Waltz (ATC)
  • Caraigh McGregor: Steve, Queers (ECC)
  • Geoffrey Mamdani: Wormold, Our Man In Havana (ETC); Mustafa C Hama, Sinbad the Sailor (ECC)
  • Tim Myers: Prospero, The Tempest (BSS)
  • Yorgos Filippakis: In Her Heart, Almost, Maine (ATC); Mal, Yellow (BSS)

Best Hair and Make-up

  • The Tempest (BSS): Gemma Santasusana, Elisabeth Munklinde, Irina Sofletea
  • Chess (BLOC): Janet Gray, Elisabeth Feron, Sarah Eyckholt, Julia Smith, and co.
  • Iolanthe (BLOC): Janet Gray, Elisabeth Feron, Sarah Eyckholt, Julia Smith, and co.
  • La Grande Duchesse (ETC): Mel Ciriaco, Filipa Ferraz
  • Sinbad the Sailor (ECC): Els Verwilgen, Eva Bordes, Andrew Budds

Alan Kenway Award for Lifetime Achievement

  • Tim Myers
  • Carrie Ellwanger
  • Kerry Lydon
  • Peter Willis
  • Tony & Angela Lowe

Best Props

  • Sinbad the Sailor (ECC): Sandy Holderbach, Cat Harris
  • Iolanthe (BLOC): Isabelle Deneyer, Lawrence Kelly, Peter Mountain, Appo van der Wiel, and co.
  • Our Man in Havana (ETC): Rhona Tobias
  • Studio Nights (ATC): Francesca Cani, Manu Peix Castiella, Robynn Colwell, Karen El Haddad
  • The Baltimore Waltz (ATC): Cath Howdle, Cat Harris

Best Director

  • The Baltimore Waltz (ATC, Mar 2023): Robynn Colwell
  • Our Man in Havana (ETC, Oct 2022): Janet Middleton
  • Sinbad the Sailor (ECC, Jan 2023): Hannah Riley
  • The Tempest (BSS, Mar 2023): Esther Pozo Vera
  • Yellow (BSS, May 2023): Geoffrey Mamdani

Best Sound

  • Iolanthe (BLOC): Tony Lowe
  • Chess (BLOC): Jeremy Thomas
  • Sinbad the Sailor (ECC): Steve O’Byrne
  • The Baltimore Waltz (ATC): Quentin Clemens
  • The Tempest (BSS): Patricia Delso Lucas, Paco López, Esther Pozo Vera

Best Newcomer

  • Aravind Dhakshinamoorthy
  • Benjamin Peuch
  • Cliodhna McCarthy
  • Samuel van Greuningen
  • Shannon Damery

Best Stage Management

  • Sinbad the Sailor (ECC): Andy Ing
  • Chess (BLOC): Marie Rousseaux
  • Our Man in Havana (ETC): Eileen Sutton
  • The Baltimore Waltz (ATC): Linnea Lagerqvist, Elodie Munezero
  • The Tempest (BSS): Maite de Sola, Boff Muir

Best Publicity

  • The Tempest (BSS): Emily Bowles, Yorgos Filippakis, Johanna Kainz, Graham Andrews
  • Chess (BLOC): Eva Konrad-Just
  • La Grande Duchesse (ETC): Peter Willis, Andrew Fisk
  • Our Man in Havana (ETC): Janet Middleton, Peter Willis
  • Sinbad the Sailor (ECC): Eva Bordes, Hannah Riley, Chris Jones, Andrew Fisk

‘Golden Butt’ Award for… going that extra mile

  • Tanya Arler and team for Play Your Part
  • Andrew Fisk for multiple roles as director, producer, actor and singer all at the same time
  • Carrie Ellwanger, for producing, directing, assistant directing, and back-up stage-managing with two twisted ankles!
  • Cath Howdle and Cat Harris for the amazing work on props and costumes in Sinbad and la Grande Duchesse
  • Esther Pozo Vera for her vision for the Tempest

Best Show

The best show award is based on the total number of votes across all categories.

  1. The Tempest (BSS, Mar 2023)
  2. Sinbad the Sailor (ECC)
  3. Chess (BLOC)
  4. The Baltimore Waltz (ATC)
  5. Iolanthe (BLOC)